K-k-k-k-k-Katmandu, I think that’s where I’m going to.

Ok, I will be the first to admit that quoting Bob Seger is probably not the coolest way to introduce this post, but it was just soooo tempting that I had to go with it. And just as Bob states, today I am off to Kathmandu. It’s strange to be leaving Thailand again with the same funny feeling in the pit of my stomach as I had last time I left. Only, last time I was heading by bus to Laos to go to the Gibbons Experience. This time, I am getting on a flight with an airline that doesn’t take online bookings, only accepts cash and has only one plane on this route (Nepal Airlines). I have managed to arrange just enough of the details to have a place to stay for my first night and a ride from the airport. I have very little idea of what to expect. Nepal is one of the poorest countries I will be visiting, but from everything I have heard and read it is one of the friendliest and most beautiful as well. A quick google image search will show you what I mean. After a few days of exploring Kathmandu, I will be heading out to the Manjushri Di-Chen Buddhist Learning Centre to teach English and basic computer skills to the “little monks” (ages 5-16 I think) for a month. I have never taught english nor have I ever taught children (although some adults I have taught seemed like children) so I have to admit, I am nervous. For these reasons, the flight from Thailand to Nepal seems like a massive leap. I am sure that, just as I experienced heading to Laos, when I arrive I will feel a massive relief at the realization that my anxiety was unfounded. However, until that point, I have to accept this little nervous creature running around inside my belly. I know from my past travels that the things that take you the furthest out of your comfort zone are usually the things you appreciate the most, and I keep trying to remind myself of that. Every part of this trip has been an opportunity to learn so many new things, with the lessons of each area varying widely from each other. Sometimes I have to remind myself of the things I have seen and done already to realize that I can certainly handle anything that is ahead of me. Really, why should I be nervous about doing something as awesome as going to Nepal to teach english and roam about without a plan to weigh me down! Well, here goes nothing…I will try to keep you posted. πŸ™‚

About Kerri

I am becoming a gypsy for the next year. Going to wander the world to learn as much as I can before my bank account runs dry.
This entry was posted in Nepal, Traveling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to K-k-k-k-k-Katmandu, I think that’s where I’m going to.

  1. Mike says:

    Good luck on your travels there. Looking fwd to hear stories about your teaching adventure. πŸ™‚

  2. Katie says:

    I can’t wait for pictures of you with the mini-monks!!! You are going to LOVE teaching. It’s the family business after all! Have fun!

  3. Pat Manorek says:

    Hi Kerri….I hope all your worries are unfounded and you have a truly amazing experience at the monastery. Love you lots…Mom

  4. Amy says:

    You are going to do great!!!!! another exciting part of your adventure! watch out for the little monks though, if they are anything like the adult monks they may be a little bit michevious!!! lol! Miss you!!!!

Leave a Reply

