And so it begins…

Here it is, my last night in Canada. I can’t believe how fast it has arrived. In my last post, I mentioned some of the awesome activities on the horizon and now I can reminisce on how it all went down. The trip to Toronto was almost cancelled due to a surprise snowstorm that very nearly stranded me in Oshawa. Luckily, with a combination of Go train, Subway and one very chilly walk (and an extra 2 hours) I ended up with the girls for our big night out. We had an awesome night, but after a wee bit more red wine then is advisable, I managed to leave my new camera in the front seat of our cab…never to be seen again. So, the Ontario portion of my trip is lacking photo evidence, but I can assure you all of the amazing stories I have of the last month are true.

After the night out with the girls, I met up with some friends from California for a fancy brunch downtown. Hanging out with two old (hehehe) roommates was a lot of fun. After brunch, we decided that -17c is just a little too cold for skating at Nathan Phillips Square, and after driving by to take a look, realized that everyone else came to the same conclusion. So, we hung out and explored Toronto a little and discussed possibly meeting up on the road (maybe in India) before I eventually had to hop back on the train to head home. It was a fantastic weekend!

Back at the homestead, I set to work on finding a replacement camera, making arrangements for California, chatting with my bank and credit card folks, fighting with my cell phone folks, doing my first practice pack (yup, that actually happened), hanging out with friends and family, going for a few more freezing morning walks with my new retired crew, getting a ladies day pedicure, and fully stalking a few other RTW blogs.  During this time, I also came to appreciate my tiny home town in a new way. After our morning walk, we sat in the coffee shop and were greeted by everyone who came in, chatted with a number of people, were given homemade cupcakes by our local banker and discussed the big topics around town. I was struck by what a tight community this truely is and how very lucky I was to have grown up here.

Suddenly, my last weekend in Canada was upon me and I was off to Peterborough. The plan was to chat about the trip to China, maybe play a little laser tag, and eat a bunch of food. Little did I know that playing a little laser tag would turn into such a momentous event! This wasn’t just a couple of us roaming around in the dark shooting at each other…oh no…it was Amy, Nathan and I getting fully immersed in what may have been a boys 8 or 9th birthday party, in a glowing smoky maze, with automatic score keeping guns, being fully targeted and hunted by our much sneakier and shorter (even shorter than me) opponents. It turns out that Nate is a bit of a sharp-shooter and that I should stay hiding behind a computer. However, after the ½ hour game we discovered my true laser strength is not shooting them, but sneaking through them. Picture Catherine Zeta Jones in Entrapment minus the skin tight outfit and the butt (I wish). The game was called Beat the Beams, and I taught those beams who is boss! Oh yeah, we also sorted out a ton of stuff for China, ate a ton of Chinese food and went to see The Green Hornet in 3D. But seriously, if you are ever in Peterborough you must go to Zap Attack. You must!

Right now, I am sure I should be packing, or stress eating, or having some kind of breakdown but instead I am just hanging out and am feeling pretty calm. Most of the details are at a point I am comfortable with, the replacement camera is right beside me, and the packing list is done. Oh right, the packing list is done, but I have to actually get that stuff into my bag now. I had better go and do that before 5am rolls around and it’s time to head out.

Adios Canada and -22c, Hello LA and finally some warmer weather!

About Kerri

I am becoming a gypsy for the next year. Going to wander the world to learn as much as I can before my bank account runs dry.
This entry was posted in Canada, Preparing to Travel, Traveling. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to And so it begins…

  1. Tim Craig says:

    Can’t wait to follow you along on this adventure!
    Safe travels, bummed I will miss you in CA. Maybe I will have to find a reason to be in Redlands Friday… =)

  2. Mike says:

    Best of luck homie! Great seeing you last week. Hope you found a good deal on another Canon 🙂

  3. Amy says:

    had a FANTASTIC time with you on saturday – laser tag was legen – wait for it -…..DARY!!!! lol! miss you already, can’t wait to see you in China!!!!!! remember you need to learn all the mandarin you can, no pressure! have fun and be safe!

  4. aunt carol says:

    another good read. you have an awesome tight community and a fun retired crew in your sunny hometown to look forward to returning to in a year give or take. until then happy trails. blog lots!!!
    luv u – xoxo

  5. Lauren says:

    Barney Stinson would be proud. You just grew another awesome bone.

Leave a Reply

