Home for a Rest

It’s hard to believe that half of my time in Ontario is already up. It has been a busy couple of weeks with Orthodox Christmas, a big family get together (thanks to Hollie “the Beav” for bringing her A game), hanging with my super fun nephew, a hike down the local section of Trans-Canada trail with dad, a walk and coffee with the local men on a sunny -22C morning, bottling wine, shopping for my final trip items, yoga with my sister, movies with mom, and on and on. Next up on the agenda is a trip into Toronto for some solid girl time with the KW crowd, a roommate reunion, skating at Nathan Phillips Square, Poutine, Laser Tag (I will be channelling Barney Stinson), a spa day and maybe even a little cross country skiing!

I have to admit that, although it is unreasonably cold here, it is really pretty. The sun shines almost everyday and the snow sparkles a lot more then I remember. While wandering around the freezing countryside, I can’t decide if it’s hard to breath because of the cold or how amazing things look (ok, I’m pretty sure it’s the cold, but it honestly is a good looking place).

I have less then two weeks left in Ontario, and I think that the reality of this trip is slowly starting to creep forward from the “I’ll think about it later” part of my brain. Usually, whatever dreams I may have at night are long forgotten by the time I wake up, but lately I have been having some that are pretty out-there and mostly memorable. Weird. I think my subconscious is trying to kick start the rest of my brain into worrying about the trip more. So far, it hasn’t actually happened though. Other then the weird dreams, I’m still a lot more relaxed about things then I thought I would be at this point. There’s lots that I probably should do (figure out where I am staying in California, book my hostel in Rarotonga, make a rough plan for getting around New Zealand, get a MasterCard, blah blah blah), but I really not overly concerned about those things. I have the big stuff sorted out, the rest is just details. However, the night before I leave, I will probably have a melt down about all of those details. Fingers crossed that that doesn’t happen, and if it does, sorry mom and dad. 🙂

About Kerri

I am becoming a gypsy for the next year. Going to wander the world to learn as much as I can before my bank account runs dry.
This entry was posted in Canada, Traveling. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Home for a Rest

  1. Kendra says:

    Yay, I made the blog!! See you Sat 🙂

  2. Tim Craig says:

    Maybe remembering your wacky dreams is about your mind telling you to go for it and have a fun and wild experience. It’s just giving you some random ideas or imagery to get you thinking about it! =)

    If you need a place to stay in northern San Diego county – we have room.

    If not, I hope to get to Esri-country while you are there.

  3. you know who adams says:

    call me when you get in to KW.

  4. Hollie says:

    Ohhhhh Kerri I always bring my A game. hahaha. I’m so proud of u!!!
    Love beavaaaaaaaaaa, I mean Holllllaaaaaaaaaaaa

  5. Amy says:

    Laser tag was Legend – wait for it – DARY!!!!

Leave a Reply

