Starting 2011 Unemployed and Homeless…and LOVING it!

Two very big steps happened this week on the road to my RTW trip. I handed over the keys to my apartment and I handed over my security fob to my office. I am now unemployed and homeless and ready to hit the road for the next year!

Although I announced my departure from work 2 months ago, it still seems like my last day sneaked up on me pretty quickly.  I got a lot done in those 2 months, but there are still a ton of things I would like to do before I wrap up my time here. However, I feel good about the way I am leaving things, so I guess that’s as much as I can hope for.

Leaving my apartment was a little bit challenging. Not just because of how much I love the view (water, mountains, even the Lions two peaks) but also because I decided to move out between Christmas and New Years. Yikes! This meant some frantic last minute packing, calling in favors to get my stuff off to the charity bins, scrubbing like mad and getting it all done in time for the final inspection. Somehow it all worked out, and I am now sleeping on a super comfy couch (after a week on the floor, anything would be an improvement) with all of my remaining belongings next to me. Thank you, thank you, thank you to my awesome new roomie Lauren!

I have less then a week left in this amazing city I have called home for the last year. It turns out that my flight back to Ontario is exactly one year from the day Dad and I arrived in Vancouver last January. I am looking forward to getting home and spending time at the Manorek manor, but it will be sad to say goodbye to Vancouver. However, I know I will be back…I haven’t climbed the Black Tusk yet, so I really have no choice but to come back here.

So, this is how I am ending 2010, with retirement and life changing decisions. It has been a great year, but the upcoming year looks like it should be pretty epic! Stay tuned, as things are about to get interesting!

Happy New Year to everyone! I hope 2011 is amazing for all of us! 🙂

About Kerri

I am becoming a gypsy for the next year. Going to wander the world to learn as much as I can before my bank account runs dry.
This entry was posted in Preparing to Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Starting 2011 Unemployed and Homeless…and LOVING it!

  1. Tim Craig says:

    I love it – you are retired! Crazy!
    Have a great New Year’s and I can’t wait to follow along as you take off on this wild, fun & exciting RTW Trip!!

  2. Mike says:

    Epic ending before a new beginning… happy 2011. 🙂 seen you soon.

  3. Stacey says:

    YEAH! Your retirement is WAY more exciting than mine. Very excited for your journey(s) and can’t wait to read about them! Eat, drink and be merry!

  4. Tiffany Hughes says:

    Um… I feel like we’re all letting one MAJOR detail slide… why’d you have to scrub like mad ya little dirtball!! lesson learned?? resolution? scrub often not mad! Can’t wait to see ur grubby little mug!! xoxox

Leave a Reply

