Today I chose a different path…

“Today is the first day of the rest of your life”. We hear this line all the time, and it’s easy to dismiss as a standard cliche. However, today it happens to be stuck in my mind like an 80’s song I just can’t shake loose from. Today is a true turning point for me, because today I changed my path. I took a bunch of deep breaths, reassured myself in every way I could and sat down for a chat with my boss. The theme of that chat…I am leaving my comfortable job, comfortable home and comfortable belongings behind to go travelling until my money runs out. It sounds a little crazy at first, but looking back, it seems that my whole life has been building to a decision like this. I have always loved to travel, to learn about places and cultures that are new to me. For a long time, I thought I was able to satisfy this wanderlust with 2 week journeys, weekend getaways and the travel I did for work. But the list of places I long to see and experience just keeps growing. Faster then I can keep up with. And my birthdays keep ticking by. Faster then I can keep up with. And while planning my latest 2 week journey to China, I began to think that 2 weeks just isn’t enough. And if I’m already in China, why not see Vietnam, or Laos, or Cambodia, or…then the list snuck up on me. I was a bit afraid of the thought of a lengthy trip at first, but slowly opened my eyes to the bigger picture. I am in the perfect position to actually do a long trip…a very long trip. Once I realized that, I also realized that ignoring this opportunity is something I could potentially regret for a very long time. So I took this idea to my parents to discuss, and to potentially be told I’m nuts. But that’s not what they said. In fact, no one has said that yet. Everyone I have talked to about this idea seems to think it is a pretty amazing opportunity. Now that I have seen that it is doable, it’s not something I can turn away from.

So, here’s the plan. I am leaving Vancouver in January to head back to Ontario for a month to spend time with my family. Then I’m off to LA to spend time with my Southern California folks. After that I am inserting a pause between my standard adult life and my travelling life with a week in Rarotonga (laying on the beach, hiking, more beach time, some sleeping, and maybe a little more beach). After that, the adventure really gets going. I am going to head to New Zealand and work my back towards Canada via Australia, Thailand, China, Laos, India, Europe, Africa…and who knows where else. I have some pretty good ideas of where I want to go, but making a lot of plans will mean changing a lot of plans. So, I am going to just keep going until I either run out of money or am ready to head home. That could be after 3 months, it could take a year, or even longer. There are people I will meet up with as I go (Jen, Amy, Nate, Erin…that’s you!) and there are certainly people I will just meet and wander with. It’s an adventure and plenty can change, but that is the general plan at this point. Crazy, eh?

Now I just have to figure out how this whole blogging thing works. 🙂

About Kerri

I am becoming a gypsy for the next year. Going to wander the world to learn as much as I can before my bank account runs dry.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Today I chose a different path…

  1. aunt carol says:

    wow good for you kerri. you’re so brave!!! i will look forward to following you around the world on your blog and hearing about all your exciting adventures.
    luv u – xoxo

  2. Amy says:

    so proud of you – can’t wait to follow! AND can’t wait to see you in China!

  3. Michelle Doble says:

    Good Luck Kerri and have a blast. I’ve been to NZ, Oz, Thailand and many other places, so if you want to pick my brain for suggestions, feel free to drop me a line. For example – you cannot enter NZ without and out going ticket – or you end up being deported or in immigration (thank goodness for me it was the later). Lots more where that came from. Take Care!

  4. Leah says:

    Way to go Kerri!! This sounds like an amazing opportunity. I’m looking forward to following your blog, and I’m definitely envious of your sense of adventure!! Good luck and have fun for those of us who are still stuck to a desk!! 🙂

  5. Jenn says:

    I can’t wait to be a part of it all! Have an amazing adventure!

Leave a Reply

